Reviews

Alvin L. A. Horn


5.0 out of 5 stars "Another Awesome Creation by Alvin L. A Horn", April 24, 2014 
By D. Haywood

  *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *


"WOW this novel is penned in vivid color with its own musical hue..."
~ Rhea Alexis M. Banks


5.0 out of 5 stars                                                             

"Perfect Circle is one of those rare books that is hard to put down!"

This review is from: Perfect Circle - April 2013:
Seattle has been named the home of the bluest skies, possessor of the most gorgeous emerald green trees and the place to frolic if you happen to be sleepless, single and looking for love. Seattle can now claim to be the birthplace of a ‘can’t put it down’ novel written by Seattle author Alvin Horn. I applaud Mr. Horn for giving Seattle yet another entity to boast about. Set in Seattle, Perfect Circle takes you on a steamy in-depth ride through the lives of characters only he could dream up and he shares with us their most intimate moments of vulnerability. We See their mistakes, their longings, their lives, their truths and thoughts up close and personal. It is difficult to make characters on paper touchable and real and Mr. Horn does just that. You can relate to their decisions and emotions as if they are your best friends. Perfect Circle teaches, engages, moves, excites and captures the essence of real life lived by real folks.

Don’t miss out on the chance to immerse yourself in the world of Perfect Circle so artfully created by Mr. A. Horn, Can’t wait for the next book!

                           *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *

5.0 out of 5 stars                                                      


A review by A. Mann - April 2013

This review is from: Perfect Circle: Forget "50 Shades of Gray". "Perfect Circle" is erotic literature for men who actually love women and for women who love themselves. Horn is emerging as one of the finest writers in this genre. Do yourself and your lover a favor and buy this book. 

                           *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *

5.0 out of 5 stars                                               
 

"There is nothing imperfect about PerfectBy Lalaina Knowles 
This review is from: Perfect Circle - March 2013

Perfect Circle is a fantastic read! Alvin LA Horn delivered a captivating story from start to finish. It is a rarity that I am capable of reading a novel in a small time-frame based in its ability to keep me engrossed yet, Perfect Circle not only had me immersed in the characters but the entire storyline with his artistic ability to show not solely tell. Perfect Circle is my first Alvin LA Horn novel but undoubtedly not my last. I look forward to reading his novel Brush Strokes and forthcoming releases as well. If you are looking for a great, sexy read, look no further as you will find that and much more in Perfect Circle


                            *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *

5.0 out of 5 stars


By Rhea Alexis M. Banks on Saturday, January 26, 2013 at 3:23pm
 ·

Perfect Circle by Alvin L.A. Horn is a very engagingly intriguing read that is penned in vivid color with its own musical hue.  One is captured by the diverse lives of the characters as curiosity is assuaged by explaining the eclectic mixtures of whys.  As one is taken on the journeys of these characters we become so immersed that we are right there, front and center watching things unfold. 

The primary male characters are basketball coaches at East Seattle City University and best friends.  As we experience life through their eyes, thoughts, acts and deeds, we experience a range of emotions that are constantly up and down.  You see, feel and are submerged in Ayman Sparks’, Head Coach and Sterlin Baylor’s, Assistant Coach love for each other....what an absolutely wonderful experience.  Ayman lives his life paying close attention to how things will entwine and is accountable for such.  Sterlin lives the playboy life style until it starts unraveling at the hands of others.  These two are so different that it adds additional layering throughout their stories and depicts acceptance and caring while staying steadfast in one’s beliefs. 

Then there's the primary female characters, Lois Mae who is a College Professor and Vanita Irving, a Court Reporter.  Lois has a very tumultuous history with men; current prospectives are non-existent, so she starts meeting men to date through dating websites.  Vanita fledges constantly due to bouts of depression and we witness how this make major impacts on her existence. I experienced a cornucopia of emotions/feelings as these two are encapsulated in the results of changes/beliefs of today surrounding dating and “looks” while the forever existing problems prevail. How they handle and dwell with them are vastly different and gives us views that are very intriguing and draw you further into their stories. 

There's an eclectic mixture of secondary characters that are seasoned throughout and fit perfectly, without distracting from the main characters or impeding on remembering who’s who. I compliment Mr. Horn for doing this exceptional well.  This is one of few novels that I have read and was not left wanting at the end. This was simply a wonderful experience. 

I give this novel 5 stars!

*   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *

5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome read!!!!, November 19, 2012
By 

Perfect Circle has the "Oh Wow Factor" it is a sexy great-read of real life mature adult situations. This book went way beyond the surface of drama's that so many book deliver with all too simplistic ways. Perfect Circle gets to the root and cause within a love story of the four main characters. This is well-written book, with realistic engaging conversations and inner thoughts. No predictable average book here. Perfect Circle as a matter of fact actually teases you and fools you everytime. The men are sexy, and act like men, but with emotions and faults. The women, are women we all know with pains and scars, but not helpless. I love reading in this book that the women don't over use the "diva-tude" to get or to fail, as I've been reading all too much in books I've read as of late. The social issues are so real. I really have to give the author big-ups in how he brought them to our attention in the story without preaching. I loved the sub- characters, one of them Suzie Q, I could read a book about her. Now the sex scenes, they make me want to curse with a big smile on my face, because they are so hot, and tastefully done. Constant foreplay throughout the book had me breathing hard even before each sex scene. I want to visit Seattle; it's now on my "bucket-list." For those who like Eric J. Dickey, Mary B. Morrison, Zane and the seriousness of a Walter Mosley, as I do, well I'm now a big fan of this author Alvin L A Horn.

                             *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *

5.0 out of 5 stars

Love, Life and Drama
, January 9, 2013


This review is from: 
Perfect Circle: A Novel (Paperback)
Perfect Circle by Alvin L.A. Horn, is a story that shares the twist and turns that can take place between those of the opposite sex in trying to connect with one another. You will witness some of the characters desiring to find a life time love along with others wanting it, but with such a warped concept of what it looks like, it keeps them from really experiencing true love. Alvin L.A. Horn even touches on those dealing with mental illness, who struggle with the reality of life and honesty, to the point that it may keep them from obtaining a healthy relationship. You will meet Coach Ayman Sparks of East Seattle City University. A man who is so driven by making men out of boys and team players that will succeed in life, that he and his lovely wife Vanessa drift apart not really understanding why it happened. But these two have a life time bond that keeps them drawn to each other even from a distance through a spiritual connection, dreams and a true love for one another. Then there is Sterlin, the assistant coach of ESCU, a good hearted man who is also driven and commit to the basketball team but he has an eye for ladies of all flavors and with that comes the drama.

Will Ayman and Vanessa get back together and will Sterlin ever settle down with one woman? You will have to read the book to find out. In my opinion with all the twist and turns and drama of relationships in this book, it will keep you captivated to the point that you will feel as if you are apart the story and a witness to the characters' lives. You may even find yourself relating to their stories. I found myself talking to the book and even at points crying. Once I started reading, it was hard for me to put it down. Although, it is a book full of relationship drama, I believe it will have you smiling and feeling good.

From the beautiful book cover, to the formatting and layout of this book along with a great storyline, it is one of the BEST books I have read for review. Sincerely it is a book I would read again. I highly recommend this book to both men and women because I feel all can relate to what Alvin has shared in his book, "Perfect Circle"...but I know that this is a book that women would be drawn to over men.
Well done, Alvin L.A. Horn!

Lady Flava
Flava News Reviews

                          *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *

5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome Read, January 27, 2013
By 

This review is from: Perfect Circle: A Novel (Paperback)
"PERFECT CIRCLE" is an awesome read because the author incorporates social issues with characters I could relate to. This book has everything from love,poetry,sex, basketball,prayer,as well as drama and suspense. I loved the great references to classic R&B music that I still listen to and enjoy.The author takes the reader on a trip through relationships the good, the bad, and the unexpected. A true page turner! Once I picked it up, it was definitely hard to put down. I would give the author/poet Alvin L.A. Horn ten stars if I could! Meanwhile, I look forward to reading more from this talented author!
Antoinette Denise Johnson 

                             *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *

5.0 out of 5 stars I LOVED, "Perfect Circle"., January 15, 2013
P. H. Williams "black pearl"

Mr. Horn, your novel was perfection. I enjoyed it so much, I could hardly put it down. The characters came to life and I got so attached to them. This was one of those reads where you wish it wouldn't end. There were many surprises where you couldn't even predict what would happen. It had me asking for more. Again, thumbs up to you Mr. Horn. Keep up the great work. Now I'm looking for a sequel.

                             *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *

5.0 out of 5 stars 
The Things We Do...
, December 23, 2012
 
OOSA Online Book Club "O.O.S.A. Gets It Read!" Ayman Sparks and his best friend, Sterlin Baylor, both coach college basketball and have totally different personalities adding to their close friendship. Ayman is honest and hardworking. He allows the basketball to control his life. That is until all things seem to crumble at once. Sterlin is a sexy, vigorous, ladies' man that lives his life to the fullest without any boundaries. That is until his past comes back to haunt him. Together, Ayman and Sterlin reevaluate their lives. Will they realize the errors in their ways before their game is over?

Alvin L.A. Horn's "Perfect Circle" is a suspenseful and fascinating novel. It keeps readers attentive no sooner than the first page. I love the way the author gives explicit details throughout the story to avoid confusion. All characters are acknowledged near the end of the story to give readers closure. Finally, the way each chapter ends encourages the anxious reader to read the next chapter. Excellent job!

Reviewed by: Tekisha 

                          *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *

5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Reading!, October 21, 2012
What A Masterpiece! This work of art is a 'must read'! The characters are amazing! I honestly felt familiar with every female character in the book! The highs and the lows, the ups and the downs, the love and the lost poured out on these pages had me remembering past loves and hurts in my life or the lives of people I have known over the years. This read is full of life and completely entertaining from my point of view. It is a body of work that is bursting with so much word, music, art...a complete work! I have learned a lot! 

                            *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *   *





"The Perfect Circle from Alvin Horn is a loaded black, sexy and dramatic soap opera, filled with plot twists, turns and surprises, just like the ladies love it!"
~Omar Tyree - the New York Times best-selling and award-winning author

“Alvin LA Horn is a rare literary gem whose talent surpasses what is commonplace in many literary offerings. His ability to create art; paint a vivid narrative with his skill in incredible story-telling ranks him amongst my favorite authors. Heart-wrenching, poignant, engrossing and hard to put down, Perfect Circle will take you on a literary ride of pleasure.”
~Elissa Gabrielle, award-winning author of "A Whisper to a Scream"

“Romance and erotica meet real social issues and the outcome is a Perfect Circle of authentic scripted relations. Alvin L.A. Horn has arrived!”
~Travis Hunter, Bestselling author of "Married But Still Looking"
and "Dark Child."
Website Builder